What is the National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS)?
Sep 26, 2019
What is the National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS)?

The National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS) is an clinical assessment that is used to evaluate and document stroke severity. This assessment is first performed by a certified clinician in the emergency department once a patient is suspected of having a stroke. The test will be repeated throughout hospitalization to determine progression of stroke.


The NIHSS includes 11 items and is scored out of 42 points, with greater scores indicating greater disability. The NIHSS looks at many domains including alertness, visual function, muscle strength (in the face, arms, and legs), sensory function, coordination, and language comprehension and production.


NIHSS scores can be used to predict short and long-term functional recovery from stroke. Results from this assessment help clinicians create an optimal medical and therapy treatment plan. Because the NIHSS is complicated, the medical team may choose to explain results in simpler terms to a stroke patient or their loved ones. It is important to know that you can always ask a doctor, nurse, or therapist to explain things in greater detail or differently to ensure that you fully understand.

Learn More:

NIH Stroke Scale International
View the NIHSS Instrument
Learn what an NIHSS Score Means

As you come to understand the best options for you or a loved one’s rehab journey, don’t miss the opportunity to check out Neofect Home Rehab Solutions. Neofect Home Rehab products are clinically proven to improve hand and arm functionality all with fun, engaging activities that you can do in the comfort of your home.

To learn more, call (888) 623-8947 or email info@neofect.com.


10 Exercises to Improve Balance After Brain Injury
10 Exercises to Improve Balance After Brain Injury
Maintaining good balance after a brain injury is crucial. Here are 10 exercises to start today to ensure safe and effective mobility.
Understanding the Brunnstrom Stages of Stroke Recovery
Stroke Recovery
Understanding the Brunnstrom Stages of Stroke Recovery
There are six Brunnstrom stages that describe the process of movement recovery after stroke. Here's what each stage means for your arm and what you can do for home exercise to maximize function.
How to regain hand grasp and function
How to regain hand grasp and function
The ability to do these simple tasks reduces dependency on others, improves potential for employment and enhances quality of life.
Using the Neofect Smart Glove to Maximize Constraint-Induced Movement Therapy
Constraint Induced Movement Therapy (CIMT) is used to treat people with Hemiplegia by constraining or restricting movement of the non-affected hand to force a person to use their affected hand.
Hemiplegia vs. HemiparesisHemiplegia vs. Hemiparesis
Hemiplegia and hemiparesis could seem very similar because they sometimes have the same underlying symptoms. However, they have different meanings.
What  does  a  drop  foot  brace  do?
Foot drop
What Does A Foot Drop Brace Do?
Are you contemplating to buy a drop foot brace? Here is the check list you need to consider before buying one.